Thursday, August 13, 2009

USA vs. Mexico w/ Pizza

When: 8/12/09

In Attendance: Obama, Dozer, Elliott, Dave Duffy, Dave Duffy's Lady Friend, Garretthubb

Where: Obama's Apartment


I had to "go dark" for a couple of hours. Not looking at the TV and internet as to avoid any info about the game. Once my friends got home from work we gathered to watch the biggest game for US soccer fans. Dave picked up three pizzas from Vace (http://www.vaceitaliandeli.com/). I had heard Vace referred to as the best pizza in DC, but this was my first experience. Vace doesn't have any place to sit and eat, so carryout is really your only option. We got a standard cheese pizza, a pizza with peppers and onions and a fresh motz and basil pizza. I have to say all three pizzas were amazing. I would definitely have to agree that this is one of the top pizzas in DC. It should be noted that at Vace they reverse the cheese and sauce order on the pizza. Meaning on a standard cheese pizza the cheese goes on first and the sauce goes on second. This is a unique and delicious feature.

The game was not as good as the pizza. The US definitely did not have a good game. Charlie Davies scored a good goal and is begining to look like a striker that Bob Bradely should include in the line up at all times. Hopefully he will play well for Socheux this season. Gooch looked solid too, but he picked up a stupid yellow card and will miss the El Salvador game. Other than that the team looked a little out of sorts. The 2nd Mexico goal was a bit lucky, but the Mexicans definitely played better. The referee was absolutely terrible, but that wasn't a deciding factor in the game. CONCACAF referees are pretty bad in general but this guy was extremely poor. It must suck for some of the African American players on the USA team. I feel like Gooch in particular gets called for ridiculous fouls because he is big, dark skinned and American.

Overall this was a good time with some solid folks. Just wish the game went our way.

No comments:

Post a Comment